Honorary AIANH Membership

AIANH periodically bestows Honorary Membership to the chapter on persons of esteemed character who are not eligible for membership in the Institute or this Chapter but who have rendered distinguished service to the profession of architecture or to the arts and sciences within the territory of this Chapter.

Call for Nominations:

  • Send nomination letters in PDF format to the AIANH office, bkastel@aianh.org
  • Deadline for nominations is February 14, 2020

Previous Honorary AIANH Members


2019 Honorary Members

At its 35rd Annual Awards Banquet on March 28 at the Currier Museum of Art, the New Hampshire Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIANH) named Robin LeBlanc, Andi Axman and Victor Azzi as Honorary Members of the AIA New Hampshire. This award is bestowed on non-architects who have given distinguished service to the profession of architecture or to the arts and sciences related to architecture within the state of New Hampshire.


Robin LeBlanc serves as Executive Director of Plan NH, which began as a committee within AIANH. For the past 10 years, LeBlanc has demonstrated her dedication to the profession of architecture and its practitioners by providing recognition, educational resources, and opportunities to share our talents with communities across the state.

Robin has deftly administered Plan NH’s various programs, including grants, student scholarships and awards, which honor projects that not only perform well for their owners and end users, but enhance the quality of life forwhole community. A tireless champion of quality design, she serves as a facilitator for both Portsmouth Listens and the City of Portsmouth and has recently taken a direct role supporting AIA NH as a member of the Forum editorial board. 

Thanks to her efforts, Robin has brought resources to the state to educate architects and the allied professions on a wide range of topics that benefit businesses, the disabled and the elderly. Most importantly, she has provided countless opportunities for hundreds of architects to engage with planners, developers, lawyers, bankers, landscape architects and citizens to tackle unique and pressing problems.



Andi Axman is Editor of New Hampshire Home, a magazine launched in January 2007 by Andi and photo editor John Hession to showcase residential design and raise awareness of its importance with the public. At a time when architectural expertise and vision are sometimes dismissed in favor of a “just get it done” approach, Axman’s work has become a crucial reminder of the value architects bring to every task.

Since New Hampshire Home’s founding, Andi has expanded the publication’s reach with an annual Design Competition to highlight Granite State projects by architects, landscape professionals, interior designers and artists from all over the country. She has tirelessly assembled juries of leading designers from outside New Hampshire to choose winners for each year’s submissions.

Andi has always believed that the true power of thoughtful design is giving us a sense of place. She has been a tireless advocate for AIANH, and New Hampshire Home has become an essential vehicle to publicize the work of AIANH within our state. As a result, Axman has had a direct and ongoing impact on the success of our profession and our organization.


Victor D. Azzi
received his B.S. degree from the University of New Hampshire, and earned his Ph.D. from Yale University, focusing on structural engineering with an emphasis on architectural structures. He began his professional career in Connecticut and California.

Returning to New Hampshire in 1965, Victor joined the UNH faculty as a tenured full professor. He was appointed by the governor to the Board of Trustees of the University System, serving as Chairman of the Capital Projects and Property Committee. In that role, Victor advocated for the creation of comprehensive, strategic master plans for the development of campuses in Durham, Keene, Plymouth Concord and Manchester. In addition, Azzi served as a Principal Administrator, Associate Vice President and Campus Planner.

Azzi’s award-winning, architecturally distinguished buildings at UNH/Durham include the Gables Student Apartments, where he leveraged $1.6 million in savings to also renovate Smith Hall, the oldest dormitory on campus. He was instrumental in building the Whittemore Center Arena, Hewitt Hall, Rudman Hall, Pettee Hall, and the rejuvenated Dimond Library, among others. His leadership at the UNH/Manchester campus has been critically important in revitalizing the historic Millyard area.

photos: John Hession, Hon. AIANH


For a list of all Honorary AIANH Members, go to the member roster and search by “Honorary AIANH Members."