2017 AIANH Design Awards

AIANH is committed to excellence in architecture and looks forward each year to celebrating outstanding works of architecture through its annual Design Awards Program. The purpose of the program is to recognize achievements in design by New Hampshire architects and to honor the project teams and the clients who work with them to create and enhance our built environment. In addition to exceptional design, we seek projects that exemplify the value of good design in creating livable communities and safe, valuable, and sustainable buildings, neighborhoods, towns, and cities.

The 2017 Excellence in Architecture Design Awards Gala will be held January 20, 2017 at the Manchester Country Club, Bedford, NH. Please join us! More information and registration will be available later. See the results of the 2016 Design Awards.

The AIA New Hampshire Design Awards Program includes the following:

  • Excellence in Architecture Awards
  • Small Projects/Small Firms
  • Unbuilt Architecture

The above awards require registration and a submission fee.
Deadline for submissions: 5:00 pm, Friday, October 14, 2016.
Once you have registered online for the Design Awards program, instructions for uploading your documents will be sent to you.

Additional Awards

  • The Clinton Sheerr Award for Excellence in New Hampshire Architecture. CALL FOR ENTRIES Deadline: Dec. 1
  • The Rick & Duffy Monahon Award for Design Excellence in Architectural Restoration and Preservation. This award is selected by the jury from the submissions received in the Excellence in Architecture and Small Projects / Small Firm categories and will not necessarily be given every year.
  • The Emerging Professionals Design Competition. This competition is run by the AIANH Emerging Professionals Network. Details of this competition are available here.

Please scroll below for elegibility and descriptions for each award.

Here are two documents with "hints for success" in putting together your project submissions:
Hints for Success
and Hints for Success 2 (This one is from way back in 1987, but the suggestions still hold true.)

Continue to scroll down after the sponsor recogntition to access the various Call for Entries.

Platinum Sponsors

Spaulding Brick logo
Spaulding Brick Co.

Gold Sponsor

Silver Sponsors
Crown Point Cabinetry
Liberty Utilities 
North Branch Construction
Pella Windows & Doors
ReVision Energy

Media Sponsor

Sponsorship: Would you like to be a sponsor of the AIANH Design Awards? Sponsorship at the Gold and Silver levels are available. Sponsorship levels and benefits.

Excellence in Architecture Awards CALL FOR ENTRIES

The Excellence in Architecture Design Awards program recognizes and honors excellence in architectural design by registered licensed architects who are full members of AIANH. Firms that are domiciled in NH may submit projects anywhere in the world. Firms domiciled outside of NH but with a principal who is a full member of AIANH may submit projects located in New Hampshire. Built projects substantially completed after January 1, 2007 are eligible. Projects that have been honored in a past AIANH Design Awards program are not eligible (unless the project was submitted in the Unbuilt category and the project has since been built). Each entrant may submit any number of eligible entries with the appropriate fees for each entry. The submitted work must be eligible for publicity and reproduction.

Deadline for submissions: October 14, 2016, 5 pm

Small Projects / Small Firms CALL FOR ENTRIES

AIA New Hampshire’s new Small Firm/Small Projects Award recognizes exceptional small projects from small architectural firms.

  • Projects may be of any building type, part of a building, an object, a work of environmental art, or an architectural design element
  • Projects must not exceed 1,500 SF
  • Firms must have no more than five practitioners, including both licensed architects and architectural interns
  • New construction and renovations are equally welcome

Deadline for submissions: October 14, 2016, 5 pm

Rick and Duffy Monahon Award for Design Excellence in Architectural Restoration and Preservation

This award was established in 2014 in honor of Rick and Duffy Monahon as a way to honor their extraordinary contribution to architecture and preservation in New Hampshire. The award recognizes outstanding and exemplary historic preservation projects as defined by their sensitivity to an historic structure and its surrounding environment; the quality of architecture, workmanship, and materials; as well as the degree of challenge or accomplishment and the level of community support for the project. If you want your project to be considered for this award, please review the criteria and make sure it is demonstrated in your submission. Submissions can come through either the basic Excellence in Architecture category or the Small Projects / Small Firms category.

Unbuilt Architecture CALL FOR ENTRIES

Unbuilt architectural designs of any project type are eligible including purely theoretical projects and unbuilt client-sponsored projects (buildings, interiors, transportation infrastructure, monuments, etc. – all project types). Projects under construction or otherwise apparently assured of construction are not eligible. Submitters must be full members of AIANH. Emerging professionals do not need to be members but must be working in a New Hampshire firm. Students do not need to be members, but must be either from New Hampshire or attending school in New Hampshire. There are no restrictions on the presumed or imagined location of projects. The intent is to invite unbuilt work by practicing design professionals, design educators, and design students from New Hampshire. Submitters may work in teams of up to three people. Deadline for submissions: October 14, 2016, 5 pm

Clinton Sheerr Award for Excellence in New Hampshire Architecture CALL FOR ENTRIES

This Award honors and promotes New Hampshire architects and architecture that exemplify excellence in design at the highest level. Clinton Sheerr AIA was a well-known New Hampshire architect who died in 1997 and whose uncommon love for the profession and the state is memorialized through this honor award. Sheerr was responsible for designing numerous award-winning New Hampshire buildings, notably the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation and St. Paul's Church, and was active in professional and community organizations. Sheerr exemplified the spirit of great passion for beauty and design, a dedication to the community, and the tenacity to follow one's tasks and dreams. This award honors other similarly outstanding architects in the state who carry on the tradition of deep love and dedication for the State, its architecture and environment. Deadline for submissions: December 1, 2016, 5 pm


Call Bonnie Kastel, 603-501-1881, bkastel@aianh.org